Your income may be psychic

Who doesn't want an overflowing piggy bank? Via Flickr user kennysarmy.

Your income says more about you than you think. Via Flickr user kennysarmy.

Your income predicts more about you than you think.

At least that’s what I’ve come to believe with the Income Upshot calculator from NPR. You input your yearly household income and zip code, and voila! A window into who you are.

According to the calculator, people making my salary tend to:

  • Be married. I’m not, but almost a quarter of people with my income are single, so I’m not alone. (Pun!)
  • Own a dog. I don’t own any pets, but if I did, I would go for a chicken.
  • Be politically moderate. That’s me!
  • Own their homes. Sadly, I’m among the 37 percent of people making my salary who rent their homes.
  • Watch two hours of TV a day. There are definitely days when I do this.
  • Not own a gun. Even though the majority of people making my salary don’t own a gun, almost a third do. I do not have a gun.
  • Prefer beer. I prefer wine. A quarter of people share my opinion.
  • Believe in god. In fact, 60 percent do.
  • Be a Virgo. I’m an Aries, so no match.
  • Own small cars. And so do I.
  • Commute 0 minutes to work each way. I think there’s a glitch in the software giving this answer, so I’m disregarding this one.

This calculator was right about me five out of 10 times. Not bad for only having my income and zip code.

How correct is the calculator about you?

Leave a Reply

