Let’s do the time warp again!

Blockbuster, which our grandchildren will think is an ab workout. Via Flickr user Alwyn Ladell.

Blockbuster, which our grandchildren will think is an ab workout. Via Flickr user Alwyn Ladell.

When I was in elementary and middle school, there were only two ways to see a movie.

  1. I could beg my parents to take me to the movie theater to see the latest Pixar film.
  2. If my parents didn’t want to take me to the theater, I could wait until the movie came out on video. Then I could go to the Blockbuster two miles away and rent the film, as long as no one had snatched it before me, which was inevitable if it was a popular, newly-released movie.

That’s the way it was, I’ll tell my robot grandchildren 50 years from now.

They will ask me if Blockbuster was a type of ab workout.

But this golden age of video cassettes was in the 90s and early 2000s. Now, if you don’t see a movie in theaters, there are other ways to watch it. DVDs take less time to be released than videos did, if you’re still into those dusty excuses for plates. Also, we all know there are dubious means to watch a movie before it’s officially released. But most people use Netflix to watch the movie without ever driving to Blockbuster and discovering that one of the store’s few copies is already gone.

Thankfully, those days are over, but I sure had a flashback of them this past weekend.

It was a rainy day in Atlanta, and my boyfriend and I wanted to see a movie that we both were interested in. It doesn’t matter what movie. All you need to know is it stars Aubrey Plaza. (OK, OK, I’ll tell you.) Though the film came out only three weeks before, we couldn’t find it playing in any theater. Its run had ceased.

Well, that’s kind of a lie. I found one theater in Seattle.

Not wanting to make the 40-hour drive to Seattle, (I know, I know. Lazy American stereotype) my boyfriend and I are forced to simply wait for the movie to come out like it’s 1998.

It feels weird. We’re all so used to instant gratification. I want to watch this now, so I will, and nothing can stop me. When it comes to this area, we’re not used to the word “no.” But now I’m stuck waiting for this (probably inconsequential) movie to come out until October or November.

In this give-it-to-me-now world we’ve created, it seems strange to not be able to get something instantly.

Have you been forced to relive the days before certain technology was popular? How?

Leave a Reply

