30 days without dessert

Via Flickr user maxo-facto.

Via Flickr user maxo-facto.

Hello, sugar. It’s good to see you again.

My 30 days of no dessert are done. Beginning today, I can eat candy and cake and other sugary goodness again.

There were a few times when not eating dessert was difficult. When I was in New York for my family reunion, there came a point when cheesecake was served after a meal. It’s hard to refuse New York cheesecake. In addition, going to people’s houses for dinner and saying no to a slice of cake felt rude. I missed being able to bake desserts.

During the second dessert-free week, I had a few days where I had headaches, perhaps because of the sudden sugar cutback.

But all in all, it proved successful. I eat most of my meals at home, and I had removed temptation by not buying sweets. When those sugar cravings came, there was no way I could binge. I ended up eating a lot of yogurt as a substitute for ice cream. The headaches subsided.

As for weight loss and improved energy, I didn’t see either of those happen. I looked and felt the same, which may have to do with the fact that I don’t consume as much sugar as the typical American. I’ve always been careful about my eating habits. Perhaps if someone who ate more desserts suddenly stopped like I did, he would experience a more adverse effect.

I thought if I made it through the 30 days, I would want to gorge myself on sugar and run after the first doughnut I saw. I’ve found that isn’t the case. I don’t need a sugary treat at the moment. I can wait.

These 30 dessert-free days showed me that it’s not a big deal if I don’t eat dessert. I can’t remember most of the foods that I turned down. After I said no, I just forgot about the cookie in front of me.

With that said, my experiment is over. I’m going to have my cake and eat it too.

2 comments
  1. Having given up sugar for a month it would be a shame to go back to the same old same old. I went off sugar for 34 days and then after that I just said yes when the offering was special, eg birthday cake or a taste of somebody else’s calories at a dinner out. That is enough for me. Nine months later, most sweets just seem like the garbage they are to me now. And I’m down 32 pounds and still haven’t stabilized! Amazing :).

    • That’s great. I didn’t see much of a difference for me because I eat sugar in moderation anyway. I’m happy with my old ways. It was mostly an experiment to see if I could make it 30 days.

Leave a Reply

