No sugar means lower grocery bill

Without a sugary dessert, I've been eating more fruit. Via Flickr user Matthew Kenwrick.

Without a sugary dessert, I’ve been eating more fruit. Via Flickr user Matthew Kenwrick.

I’ve been dessert-free for eight days.

I’ve gone through eight days of no candy or cookies or ice cream. Just 22 days to go.

Here are a few of my observations:

  • I spent less at the grocery store. Normally, I would have bought a gallon of ice cream or that package of Milano cookies that was on sale, but I didn’t. And the important part is I didn’t buy anything to replace those purchases.
  • I’m OK without dessert. I thought it would be more challenging to go without dessert after dinner than it is. But I don’t miss it as much as I thought I would. I haven’t collapsed from the lack of sugar.
  • Instead of eating a cookie after dinner, I’m having more fruit. I’ve always been a big believer in fruit, and now I’m eating it even more.

Let’s see how I feel next week, but after completing almost a third of my quest, I’m doing alright.

Leave a Reply

