Goodbye, sugar. It’s been nice.

Sugar. Via Flickr user Judy **.

Sugar. Via Flickr user Judy **.

Dessert and I love each other, but we’re taking a break.

I’ve tasked myself with cutting out candy, cookies, and other sugar-filled, nutrition-depleted food for 30 days. Today is my first sugar-free day.

I have a few reasons for why I’m doing this. First and foremost, I want to cut down on sugar. Americans consume 130 pounds of sugar every year. The American Heart Association recommends eating no more than 9.5 teaspoons of sugar per day; the average adult gobbles up more than double that amount.

I don’t think I’m consuming as much sugar as the average American. I don’t eat dessert every day, and I don’t drink regular soda or sports drinks. But there is always room for improvement.

I don’t want to forbid sugar completely because it’s not reasonable for me to do that. After all, it is present in fruit, milk, and tomato sauce. Some foods with sugar, such as yogurt, are healthy in other ways. My focus is on desserts. If a person never eats ice cream, cake, or candy again, he won’t miss out on anything nutritionally.

I’m also doing this experiment to see if I can abstain from sweets for 30 days. Can I summon the willpower? And how will I feel after eating less sugar?

I don’t want to run away from desserts forever. It’s fine to eat them in moderation. I just want to see what will happen if I cut sugar-laden foods from my diet for a month.

Today is the first day. I can eat desserts again July 3.

Until then, sugar.

4 comments
  1. Adina! Great job. That’s so awesome you’re making the commitment! Hope it goes great, good luck! Cutting out sugar can be very difficult!

  2. James Hargrove said:

    I seriously thank myfitnesspal for shining light on the fact that I only need 50 grams of sugar per day. My old diet read having over 90 grams of sugar. I try to only get sugar through whole foods. Since my cutback, I’ve definitely felt an elevation in mood.

    • That’s good to hear. I don’t think I’m getting too much sugar in my diet, but I want to see if I feel any different with less of it.

Leave a Reply

