I promise to like my birthday

A birthday cake. Via Flickr user 3liz4.

Via Flickr user 3liz4.

I’m going to turn 22 years old in three days.

I don’t like celebrating my birthday, mainly because I don’t enjoy being the center of attention (hard to believe, I know, since I write a blog). It feels awkward when people are singing happy birthday to me. What am I supposed to do while they serenade me?

This post will be my first step to embracing my birthday this year.

And, hey, 22 could be a big year. It was the age that Charles Darwin set off as a ship’s naturalist on a voyage to South America and the Galapagos Islands. By 22, Swiss psychologist Jean Piaget received his Ph.D. and published 20 articles.

Maybe I won’t expound on theories of evolution or cognitive development, but I have confidence that 22 will be just fine.

So I’m going to try to care about my birthday this year. Bring on the cake. Bring on the singing.

I’ll let you know what I end up doing for my birthday. Let’s see if I follow through on my promise.

What do you like do on your birthday?

4 comments
  1. Thomas Nuffan said:

    Happy (early) birthday!

  2. Sinead said:

    22 is such a great age, happy birthday 🙂

Leave a Reply

