Cigarettes with a side of Activia yogurt

Sometimes, I just don’t get it.

While walking into work this morning, jamming my hands in my coat pockets because I had seriously underestimated the temperature, I saw two women standing outside together, smoking. You could go to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and read a whole host of facts and studies explaining why smoking is terrible for your body. It’s 2013, and we all know that. That’s not what I’m going to tell you about.

Activia

Via Flickr user phossil

In the hand of one of the cigarette-smoking women, I spotted a small carton of Activia yogurt. What? In case you don’t know, Activia is a probiotic yogurt that is supposed to be uber-healthy. It makes you into a superhero or something. Activia’s TV commercials always feature happy, fit-looking women eating the yogurt. In short, this yogurt doesn’t come with a handful of Oreo crumbs in the lid.

And here is this woman standing outside with a cigarette in one hand and a health food in the other. I guess after she inhales a morning dose of cigarette fumes, she wants to make sure she takes care of her body.

People just don’t make sense to me. Their actions can conflict each other, and they don’t give it a second thought.

Perhaps we all do something like this. I know I’ve binged on healthy cooking articles only to go to the kitchen and open a box of Girl Scout cookies. (Give me your Samoas and no one will get hurt.) The woman with her cigarette and Activia was just a symbol for anyone who has ever been hypocritical — and that includes everyone.

Suddenly, I don’t feel so bad knowing that I’m snacking on an apple while there’s a box of chocolate cookies in my room.

2 comments
  1. Ah, one of those perplexing sightings. I occasionally stumble upon this bewildering phenomenon too. Humans are very good at compartmentalizing their minds. They can be very logical in one area and very irrational in another. I think everyone is susceptible to this, regardless of how smart they are.

    I often see people coming out of yoga classes to smoke, and people who just bought a fresh green juice from a heath food store smoking. I know vegetarians who smoke cigarettes, and many who smoke pot, as if it’s healthier than tobacco. It would be a lot funnier if smoking wasn’t so freaking dangerous.

    I don’t think it necessarily applies here, but there is that old saying “Our virtues are our vices in disguise.”

    Like you, I don’t even drink coffee. שלום

    • Adina Solomon said:

      Thanks for your take! I’ve definitely seen all of that before. People sure like to compartmentalize their actions.

Leave a Reply

