I’m a real person now

92 job applications. 56 days since graduation (including the Christmas/New Year’s lull when no company is open or hiring). 9 interviews.

I’m done.

0209130927Fewer than 24 hours ago, I landed a job as associate editor at a trade magazine. So, yeah, those job interview tips I posted worked. Now I have proof. This gives my advice more credibility, right?

I feel happy with my newly-acquired job. The employment market isn’t fantastic, especially in journalism, so I was afraid that I would have to take a position that I didn’t truly want. But luckily, that didn’t happen. As an editor, I can write, edit (hence the job title), interview people, and do social media for the magazine. It’s everything I hoped for and want.

And a strange feeling has set in: I feel like a real person now. I have a college degree. I have a job. At some point, I’ll move into my own apartment and out of my parents’ house. It’s what I want, but it’s weird because it’s all really happening. Most college students (including myself) have it in the back of their minds that they will someday be real people with full-time jobs and apartments they don’t share with roommates. And now that day is here. It had become habit for me to immediately visit job search sites such as Indeed.com, LinkedIn, and JournalismJobs.com every time I opened my laptop. Yesterday afternoon, I started going through my ritual when I stopped myself. I don’t need this anymore. I’m employed.

It’s odd how life works out. Out of my nine interviews, one interviewer told me I was overqualified for the “boring” job he was filling. He said I could get a better one. Though I wasn’t delighted by his frank assessment (and ensuing rejection) at the time, I now see that it all worked out. I did get a better job.

I start my editor gig next week, so I’ll tell you all about it then.

Leave a Reply

